Australia · Births, deaths, marriages · Censuses and Voter lists · Military · Parish Registers · Researching your family history · United Kingdom

My research checklist – an update

When I was researching my great grandparents, Joseph Whimpey and Sarah Jane Sharp, I found I needed to update my checklist. Sarah was born in 1853 in Wakefield, Yorkshire, England.  She came with her parents to Australia in 1863.  Also, one of Joseph and Sarah’s son had been killed in the First World War.  I now needed to update my checklist. At this stage, I am only including sites that are free to search

FreeBMD/GRO indexes.  The indexes on these sites are free to search. The General Register Office Online indexes give the mother’s maiden name on the birth indexes, and the age for deaths, but you need to know  the date of the event within 2 years, so I will use the FreeBMD first, and then check the GRO indexes for additional information.  The GRO indexes only have births and deaths at this stage.

FreeCen.  This site has transcripts of censuses for England, Ireland, Channel Islands, Isle of Man, Scotland and Wales

FreeReg.  This site has transcripts of parish registers from England, Ireland, Channel Islands, Isle of Man, Scotland and Wales

CWGC.  I use the Commonwealth War Graves Commission to find details about someone killed in the 1st and 2nd World Wars.