Sunday afternoon Genealogy Fun

Sunday Afternoon Genealogy Fun – Your Santa Clause Memories

Each week on Randy Seaver’s Genea-musings blog he has a post for Saturday night Genealogy fun.  Because of the time difference, I have called my series Sunday Afternoon Genealogy Fun.  This week’s mission was:

1)  Answer these questions:

a) Did you ever send a letter to Santa Claus?

b) Did you ever visit Santa and “make a list?”
c) Do you still believe in Santa Claus?
d) When did you find out “the truth” about Santa Claus?

2)  Tell us your answers in a blog post of your own, in a Facebook post or Google+ post.  Be sure to leave a comment on this post with a link to your answers.

Here are my answers.

  1. I don’t think I ever sent a letter to Santa Claus
  2. I know that mum took me to visit Santa, because I have a photo of me and my mum with Santa, but I don’t remember the visit. I think I was about 3 or 4 years old at the time. That’s the only visit I know about, so I don’t think I ever made a list for Santa.
  3. Since I don’t remember ever believing in Santa when I was young, I don’t “still” believe in Santa. But, when your kids open presents you don’t remember buying, you do start to wonder.  I think I’m more prepared to believe as an adult then I was as a kid.  Perhaps not in Santa Claus himself, but more that Christmas is a special time of year, when anything is possible.
  4. I don’t remember how I found out the truth about Santa Claus. As far back as I can remember, I always knew.  Perhaps it had something to do with being the youngest in a large family, and having a birthday so close to Christmas.  It could also have been because we live in Australia, and didn’t have a fireplace.

Randy originally posted this challenge in 2016, and I haven’t thought of anything else to add, so this is a copy of that post https://loiswillis.blog/2016/12/25/sunday-afternoon-genealogy-fun-my-santa-claus-memories/ .

One thought on “Sunday Afternoon Genealogy Fun – Your Santa Clause Memories

  1. I’m not sure how widespread around the world that Santa letter writing happened back in the 1940s and 1950s. I don’t think it really took off until the 1960s, when movies and the post office started supporting it. Being the youngest in your family might well be why you don’t remember believing in him. An older sibling would have been sure to tell!

    Like

Comments are closed.