Latest research

Latest research – Jane Gill

I have been working through the siblings of my 2x great grandparents, and I was working on John Gill, the brother of my 2x great grandmother Mary Gill.  His probate files were on Ancestry, so I was quickly reading through the pages, as I was downloading the images, and saw the mention of Thomas Williams of Temora New South Wales, and Mrs Williams (formerly Gill).  Another page mentioned her first name – Jane.

A few years ago I found an online tree that suggested that Jane had married John Martin in South Australia.  However, from John’s probate file I had alternative information that indicated she married Thomas Williams.  I then decided to search for a marriage for Jane Gill to Thomas Williams in Victoria, and found one in 1858.  I therefore applied for this certificate, and found that this was our Jane:

Thomas Williams married Jane Gill on 17 November 1857 in Amherst, Victoria, Australia.  Thomas was born in Surrey, England. Jane’s birthplace was listed as Maryport, England.  Thomas was a 32 year old miner at Emu. Jane was 33 years old, and also living at Emu.  Thomas’ parents were Evan Williams, sawyer or lawyer, and Elizabeth Peters.  Jane’s parents were William Gill, miner, and Mary Scott.  I couldn’t make out one of the witnesses names, but the other witness was John Gill.

Since John’s probate papers had shown that Thomas Williams was living in Temora, New South Wales, I then searched Ancestry, and found that a Jane Williams died in 1892 at Temora.  Her parents were listed as William and Mary.  Unfortunately, the New South Wales indexes don’t list the father’s surname, or the mother’s maiden surname, or the age of the deceased, so I tried searching Trove for a death notice for her, but wasn’t able to find one.  I therefore applied for her death certificate.

Her death certificate shows:

Jane Williams, married woman, died 13th November 1892 at Temora.  She was 68 years old, and died from old age and nephritis. Her parents were William Gill, coal miner, and Mary Scott.  The informant was William Reeves, nephew, Amherst, Victoria.  She was buried 14th November 1892 at Temora.  She was born Plumben, Cumberland, England and had been in the Australian Colonies for 40 years.  She married Thomas Williams in Amherst, Victoria, at the age of 33, and she had no children.

 

One thought on “Latest research – Jane Gill

Comments are closed.