52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks

52 Ancestors #4 Albert George Casey

As part of my genealogy do-over, I checked Newspapers.com for any articles about Albert George Casey.  The one result was an article from The Age 23 March 1956.  Since The Age is a Publisher Extra article, I then looked for the article in the Australia, Newspaper Vital Notices, 1841-2001 collection at Ancestry.com.

The following is a transcription of the article

The Age, Fri., Mar. 23, 1956 Page 15 Col 3

Woman Given £4500 Damages

BALLARAT, Thursday. – A married woman who claimed £15,000 damages from the drivers of two cars was awarded £4500 by a Supreme Court jury today.

The woman, Mrs. Helen Stewart, of Patrick Street, Stawell, was injured in a collision between a car driven by her brother-in-law, Robert Alexander Boag, of Stawell, and one driven by Albert George Casey, of Albert Park.

Mrs. Stewart was a passenger in Boag’s car when the collision occurred at the corner of Barkly and Albert Streets, Ararat, on June 20, 1954.

She claimed £15,000 damages for her injuries from Casey and Boag.

I found this article when I did the do-over for Albert on 2 July 2017.  At the same time I had checked Trove for any other articles for Albert, but I thought that the only articles were the ones I had already shared in my post Trove Tuesday – Albert George Casey

Last week, when I was trying to decide which ancestor I was going to use for this week’s 52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks post, I decided to check Trove again for any articles I might have missed, and I found this earlier article.

Woman claim £15000
Woman claims £15,000 (1956, March 21). The Argus (Melbourne, Vic. : 1848 – 1957), p. 7. Retrieved July 17, 2017, from http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article71793297

I’m not sure how I missed this in my earlier search – I may have thought the article was for his son, who was also called Albert George Casey.

Background of featured image is a photo from Unsplash – https://unsplash.com/search/sky?photo=VvhFBq9D7N0 Photo by Zachary Young